Malt is the foundation of beer. It’s where beer gets much of its flavor, color, and body. But looking through the bins of a homebrew shop grain room or scrolling through page after page of malts available online can become intimidating. So, we wanted to explain the different categories of malt in a way that will help you understand what they are and how they are used in homebrewing. Those four categories, or families, include: Standard Process Malts (AKA Base Malts), Crystal/Caramel Malts, Roasted Malts, and Special Process Malts. #homebrew #malt #brewing

This video is a lesson except from our full-length online course from Northern Brewer University, INGREDIENT SERIES: MALT. For more information and to sign up for the class:

00:00 – Intro
00:29 – Standard Process Malts (Base Malts)
03:08 – Caramel/Crystal Malts
04:23 – Roasted Malts
05:15 – Special Process Malts

Leave a Reply